Tree Board

Regular Meetings

  • Noon
  • 1st Wednesday of every month
  • Cookeville Public Works Facility
    1115 E Spring Street
    Cookeville, TN 38501

Appointed Members

  • Guy Zimmerman, Chairman
    Term expires: August 2021
  • Mike Witt, Treasurer
    Term expires: August 2021
  • Jim Woodford
    Term expires: August 2020
  • Ron Graves, Secretary
    Term expires: August 2020
  • Tony Stone
    Term expires: August 2021

Standing Members

  • Cody Barrett, TN Div of Forestry Representative 
  • Douglas L. Airhart, Certified Arborist, TTU School of Agriculture Representative
  • Greg Brown, Director, Public Works
  • Jaime Nunan, Urban Forester
  • Jeff Littrell, Director, Codes Department
  • Jon Ward, Director, Planning Department
  • Rick Woods Director, Leisure Services
  • Tony Peek, Director, Electric Department


The City of Cookeville Tree Board was established August 4th, 1988 by the City Council, after a recommendation by the Leisure Services department to help deal with problems affecting the city’s trees. Board members are appointed by the Mayor with City Council approval and must reside within Cookeville city limits. The board consists of thirteen members, eight standing, and five appointed who may serve no more than two successive three year terms.

Duties and Responsibilities

  • Prepare a tree ordinance for the community.
  • Develop and review as necessary, recommend policies to carry out the intent of this ordinance.
  • Assist in coordinating tree-related activities.
  • Coordinate publicity concerning trees and tree programs.
  • Conduct an Arbor Day ceremony.
  • Provide tree information to the community.
  • Maintain a recommended tree list for the community.
  • Recognize groups and individuals completing tree projects.
  • Coordinate donations of trees or money to purchase trees.
  • Hear citizen concerns regarding tree problems during scheduled meetings.
  • Perform other tree related duties and opportunities that arise from time to time.

Agendas & Minutes