Planning Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 5:30 p.m.
  • 4th Monday of each month, with the exception of May which is the 3rd Monday if Memorial Day is on the 4th Monday
  • Council Chambers
    45 E Broad Street
    Cookeville, TN 38501

The Public is invited to attend all meetings of the Planning Commission.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

The agenda deadline is Noon on the first Monday of the month. If the first Monday is a holiday observed by the city the deadline is extended one day. Agenda review sessions are held on the Thursday before the Monday meeting at Noon in the lower level conference room in City Hall.


  • Jim Woodford, Chairman
    Term expires: January 1, 2024
  • Judy Jennings, Vice-Chairman
    Term expires: January 1, 2027
  • Jim Cobb
    Term expires: January 1, 2028
  • Ali Bagci (Council Representative)
    Term expires: August 2026
  • Bob Faulhaber (Mayor’s representative)
    Term expires: August 2026
  • Lauren Metts
    Term expires: January 1, 2026
  • Mallie Rogers
    Term expires: January 1, 2024
  • Jim Stafne
    Term expires: January 1, 2024
  • Kay Starkweather
    Term expires: January 1, 2025


  • The Planning Commission is composed of nine (9) members. The membership consists of a council representative, the Mayor or the Mayor’s designee, and seven (7) members appointed by the City Council. Appointed members serve five (5) year terms.
  • The Planning Commission prepares long and short range plans for the future development of the city and reviews all major street or utility improvements for compliance with city plans. The Commission also reviews and approves all subdivision developments, reviews and makes recommendations to the City Council on all rezoning requests and Zoning Code Amendments, reviews and makes recommendations on all annexation proposals, approves street renaming, and reviews surplus property requests.